Social Quandaries

LiveForTheTones

Forum Crew Member
Since I've joined the EMS profession, I've been working more and more. I've been taking on a lot of OT shifts because I'm trying to save for paramedic school, but that's been killing my social life.
When I'm with my "regular" friends, they go on and on about their jobs, and their kids, and their cars. I'm extremely passionate about what I do for a living. At first, I was all for talking about it. But I found that apparently, speaking about how being vomited on kind of put a damper on your day, is not as socially acceptable as talking about your baby vomiting on you.
So my friends have shied away from me. Even after I tried to put a lid on my EMS talk. I would catch myself opening my mouth to say something, and shut it again because I think, "These people don't want to hear that. They're eating."
I try to hang out with my EMS buddies, but a lot of us work at different stations and have opposite schedules. So if we DO get to hang outside of shift, it's once a month. If that.

But here's the rub: not only do I feel a little isolated and lonely friend-wise, but those same "regular" friends that shy away from me have started calling me. Not to say "hey" or set up a lunch date. But they call me out of the blue and say something like, "Since you work in the medical field..." and proceed to ask me a medical question. I tell them over and over that I'm not a doctor, just an EMT. Basically they're treating me like a TeleDoc or whatever those phone services are called.
Now, when I get these calls and I hear them begin to ask a medical question, I immediately say, "Go to the hospital." And hang up. Which apparently makes me a certified jerk.
Am I overreacting by getting annoyed by this behavior?
Usually, I'm as nice and helpful as can be. But there are some situations where I feel like even answering their questions puts my license at risk. So I don't answer them. Which also makes me a jerk.