Sikh patients

Chad

Forum Ride Along
Hi! I am an EMT-B student and I am collecting information for a class project on providing emergency care for patients who practice non judeo-christian religions. I am hoping there are members of this forum who have experience and/or information related to providing care for Sikh patients. I know that Sikh's generally do not cut the hair on their head, face or body. Implied consent would allow a rescuer to shave the chest of a Sikh male who is unresponsive in the event that an AED or monitor is needed. Under informed consent is refusal common? Any other info or experiences that anyone would like to share would be greatly appreciated!

planetmike

Forum Lieutenant
You may need to go to the source, i.e. check with a Sikh temple, or a Muslim mosque regarding revealing the hair of a Moslem female, or a Quaker church about using electricity.

I responded once to an Amish home. Our further info from dispatch said the family requested we not use our lights/siren once we entered their property. The home was lit with candlelight. They didn’t mind use using our flashlights or phones, but did not allow us to turn on their electric lights beyond a single kitchen light.

Good luck, it’s an interesting topic.

cprted

Forum Captain
I work in an area with a large Sikh community. I've never had anyone make an issue of shaving a bit of chest hair, responsive patient or not. As with all things, explain to the patient and/or their family what you're doing and why.

OP
OP
Chad

Chad

Forum Ride Along