OWI and an EMT-B student

soccergirl47546

Forum Ride Along
I am new hear and needing some advice. I am an EMT-B student, and recently a fellow classmate was kicked out of class for being arrested for an OWI. He received 2 A misdemeanors. He was wondering in Indiana if they can do this and if there is any way to fight it. He has never been in trouble before and the arrest came from taking a prescription medication and a tranquilizer which caused him to have a seizure while driving. He has great potential and I hate to see all his hard work go down the drain

MMiz

I put the M in EMTLife
Community Leader
Was he charged or found guilty of OWI? Chances are many local EMS programs won't even accept him because of it, and gaining a job at a private or public service will be near impossible.

If he is smart he will find the best lawyer he can and fight it. Paying a few thousand for a good lawyer now will save possibly tens of thousands in the future.

OP
OP
S

soccergirl47546

Forum Ride Along
He was charged but not convicted yet. The instructor told him he could fight it before the EMS Commission, but needed to pass the course first. How does he pass the course if he has been kicked out of it?

oldschoolmedic

Forum Lieutenant
OK, they shouldn't remove him from class for being charged, by doing so they will be opening themselves up to a lawsuit should he be found innocent. By any chance does your school have a moral terpitude clause with its students? If it does, this sort of charge would be a violation of the clause and grounds for dismissal.

A seizure while operating will cause the DOT of your state to place restrictions on his driver's license, at least temporarily, regardless of the cause of the seizure. He will need to get a clean bill of health from his physician, and preferably a neurologist before he gets cleared probably.