New Licensed EMT with a DUI on Driving Record but, Never Convicted

Bighurk

Forum Probie
Hey guys, sorry for posting anything like this on this forum but I've searched all over Google and other forums with no luck and I know some of you have had DUI experiences or know of a co-worker who had a DUI in the past... Please don't put me down. I graduated the EMT program back in December 2010 and recently became license and am now working as an EMT at a theme park. :)

I was arrested for a DUI and Possession of Controlled Substance (UNTRUE) in August of 2009. The drug part: Empty bag of protein Powder. I was detained at the Police Station and later released around 5 AM. The police officer had me do a field sobriety check and I had no problem with it and then he made me do a breathalyzer which according to him was a 0.11 I never even looked at breathalyzer and a couple of hours later he made me do another breath test and after that I did a blood test. All this was 2 years ago.

I called DMV in April to see if I can get the DUI off my driving record since I was never convicted and the person on the phone had told me that if I can get a letter from the police dept saying that it was an unlawful arrest then they would be able to take it off my record. After that, I asked a the police station and they told me to contact the detective and everything but with no luck then I was sent to the supervisor of the Records Bureau and they had told me to sign a petition to seal my record (Penal Code 851.8) and then once approved they can seal up my criminal record.

I called DMV again today and they told me that there was no way to take the DUI off my record and I had to wait 13 years for it to come off because I admitted to the DMV hearing. The reason for that was because I didnt now what to do at that point 2 years ago and had thought that's how I can get a restricted license.