Need some job advice.

curt

Forum Crew Member
Title should say it all; I need some advice on finding work in EMS. I graduated my EMT-I85 class back in Dec with some solid grades, been looking for a job ever since. I'm 20 years old, live in Haralson County in West Georgia, and the only experience I have working in the field is clinicals ( /shamed). I haven't taken EVOC because for some insane reason, there's only one place in the state of Georgia, at least that I know of, that teaches EMS EVOC and it's forever away from me. The biggest problem I've had so far is that every service under the sun has the type of insurance that mandates the driver be 21, and in this neck of the woods, 'driver' is interchangeable with 'the EMT', of course. The next biggest problem is that since the economy's gone paws up, nobody can afford to hire anyone else. I think I've gone to pretty much every 911 service in an hour-and-a-half's one-way drive from my place with no luck.

Any advice?

Shishkabob

Forum Chief
Well, from your very post it looks like you have to be 21.

How are your interviewing skills? You wear a suit, look presentable, shake hands, look in the eyes, and have a nice resume? Speaking from management experience, it doesn't matter how much is on the resume, just that you have one.

Many people our (I'm also 20) age, do NOT bring resumes, and can't interview for crap.

If worse comes to worst, apply for a stockroom or dispatch job.

daughertyemta

Forum Crew Member