Need Some Help

Loss Horn

Forum Ride Along
Hello all my name is Loss Horn and I am a paramedic student. We have an assignment to write a research paper on shock. When I'm done its probably going to be around 50 pages long. One of the questions that I have to answer in the paper is to "Discuss the Fick Principle". I have googled it and every site I go shows the formula for it but doesnt explain exactly what it is. I wanted to see if anyone might be able to help me out with a link or some kind of information that may be able to assist me with this project. Sorry if this is in the wrong section and any help would be appreciated.

VentMedic

Forum Chief
I came across this sight that sums it up easily without alot of extra formulas. I apologize to the moderators, I couldn't read it very well until I did the copy and paste thing.

http://bme.usc.edu/bme403/Section_3/cardiac_output.html

Cardiac Output is the volume of blood that the heart is able to pump out per
unit time, represented in Liters per minute.

The cardiac output represents the volume of blood that is delivered to the body, and is therefore
an important factor in the determination of the effectiveness of the heart to deliver blood to the
rest of the body, (i.e., determining heart failure, inadequate circulation, etc).

By definition, two major factors contribute to the cardiac output: the heart rate, which is the
number of heartloads of blood is ejected per unit of time, and the stroke volume, which is
effectively the volume of blood that the heart can fill with, which will be ejected upon contraction.
Increasing the heart rate effectively increases the cardiac output by increasing the number of
cardiac volumes of blood released into the system. As long as the heart is given a long enough
diastole (resting phase), the effective volume that the heart outputs will increase.

The stroke volume can be increased by three different factors: the preload, the afterload, and the