need heart advice?

Status
Not open for further replies.

23jordan

Forum Ride Along
Sorry this is long... but Hi, I'm new to this.. I just joined today so i'm still learning. I'm a 17 year old(soon to be 18) male with heart trouble. I plan to get my EMT-B when i turn 18. I just joined the volunteer fire dept. as a cadet. I havent been there for two weeks since my last "episode" .. During training they called a medic to get me, and i havent been back since. It's very embarrassing At random times my heart rate will jump to 150 bmp. I'll try and give you all the facts. My resting heart rate is usually around 90. I always have palpitations, chest pain, and occasional "skipped" beats. I don't do too much exercise anymore. I don't do illegal drugs, I'm off all prescription drugs (Lexapro, Wellbutrin) for anxiety. I stay away from caffeine. I do have anxiety. I have an appt. with cardiologist soon, and have talked to him about this before meeting. He says he thinks i have tachycardia and then my anxiety triggers heart rate to go to 150 range. Its very scary when it happens. So i have some questions.. 1) when it happens im not sure wether to call 911? I've been to the ER about three-four times THIS year. always the same thing.. they see i have a fast heart rate and high blood pressure, but it doesnt go down. they run tests and everything comes back okay. i'm also on a heart monitor for 30 days. i've heard different things from different paramedics. one mentioned PSVT, but i dont think my heart goes that fast.. another mentioned something with my t waves. and another just thinks anxiety. but i am in counseling and previous meds havent worked. i have some ekg paperwork but i dont know how to show it to you. but usually the paper says im in sinus tach, and have abnormal t waves. i was prescribed valium a couple days ago to help calm me down when it happens. i took one yesterday for the first time (half of 5 mg) when i felt anxious and about 20 mins later my heart monitor went