Job Prospects as new EMT-B in Chicago suburb?

GoIrishEMT

Forum Ride Along
Hello everyone!

I'm honored to join your community. I'm currently a university student (you can probably guess where by my screenname) who is about to take the MCAT's in a month ... :eek: .

Last summer, I got my EMT-B license both with the State of Illinois and the NREMT. However, because of school and other extracurricular obligations during the academic year, I was unable to get any formal (real) experience riding around on the rig.

This summer, I'm returning home to the suburbs (Dupage County near Chicago) and I'd like to use my EMT-B license to serve the community. I hear that its hard for a fresh EMT to get work with the fire department or the ED. So, I'm going to try for a private transport company (Superior is the only one I know of). Though I don't think companies like Superior have jurisdiction to take 911 emergency calls (at least in the burbs), I'm still dying to get some experience on the bus.

Even if I only get the act like a glorified taxi to nursing home patients, I still want to do something productive for the summer vacation. Plus, I'm sure that I'll be able to see some cool stuff.

You all think that I have a decent shot of getting hired? Thanks for your input :).

Last edited by a moderator:

Epi-do

I see dead people
I know that around here, alot of private services have a pretty high turn-over rate. Because of that, it is pretty easy to get hired with just about any of them.

OP
OP
G

GoIrishEMT

Forum Ride Along
That's good to know. Thanks.

I had a couple of other logistical questions. Since I'll be the newbie, I guess that I'll do most of the driving? I heard that many insurance companies require the driver to be 21, but I do not turn 21 until the end of the summer. This won't be a problem, will it?

Also, I know that many firefighter EMT/medics work the 24 hour on, 48 hour off shift. Is this the same with private transport companies as well?

Epi-do