IV Certification - Clinical on Friday

Boomerthedog

Forum Ride Along
Hi - I'm new to the EMT world as I just finished my EMT certification a few weeks ago. I also just finished up my IV Therapy course and need to get six sticks in a hospital setting this Friday to be certified. I am fairly nervous about this particular clinical since I only have four sticks and they were in a controlled classroom setting. My problem isn't so much locating the best vein and successfully threading the catheter (although I still get nervous on this part); what seems to be the most difficult for me is everything that comes after insertion - remembering to release the tourniquet, keeping the catheter steady, applying the tagaderm/tape cleanly, etc. I always seem to run into some silly issue like getting the tape stuck to my glove, wrinkling the tagaderm, etc.

If there is ANY advice anyone can give me about my first sticks on live patients, I would really appreciate it. The last thing I want to do is scare the life out of an already anxious patient because I'm fumbling around while he's got a tiny tube stuck in his vein.

Thank you!

NYMedic828

Forum Deputy Chief
Most places will fail you if you take you let go of the catheter hub at any time prior to it being secured to the skin.

Take the tourniquet off as soon as the catheter is successful in the vein. You will look moronic if you go to flush the lock without removing the tourniquet.

I can understand your never with only 4 sticks. My class I did 300 by the time of state testing. But in the end there is really nothing more to it then properly going through the motions and putting a small hose into a bigger hose.

ZootownMedic

Forum Lieutenant