Intubation

MinnesotaMedicStudent

Forum Ride Along
I'm going to probably sound like an idiot, but please don't be too hard on me. It's my first time posting and I'm a relatively new medic student.

We have not covered intubation yet and I have some questions. I was doing some of my BLS rides (riding on an ALS rig but only being able to do interview, vitals and such) and my preceptor confused me. The call was for an overdose.

We get on scene to find an 84 year old woman unresponsive on the floor. She is breathing (R-14, SPO2- 95% on RA), has a GCS of 5 (E-1, V-2, M-2), and has bounding distal pulses (BP 112/64, P 60 regular). There are about 12 empty pill containers in the bathroom, husband states she takes her pills and goes to bed before him, he last saw her about 1.5 hours ago.

One of the bottles was for percocet, husband states he thinks that was already empty. Pupils dilated (equal at 4mm, reactive, round). Pt does not appear to have vomited, is not diaphoretic (warm to touch, skin appears normal), and has good cap refill.

She has snoring respirations that are easily corrected with a simple head-tilt. Here's where my question comes in. My preceptor was the attending and he elected to place a nasal pharyngeal airway and provide oxygen via mask. His partner appeared to think the lady should be intubated and after some not-so-subtle hints at such the preceptor attempted to place an oral airway and then said "not going to happen, she has a gag-reflex".

Should she have been intubated? I've read that a gag-reflex doesn't mean the patient is protecting her airway. If your service, like this one, doesn't have RSI, can you intubate a patient with a gag reflex? When you intubate someone who is breathing adequately, how do you bag them? Try to do it when they are inhaling but still only 8-10 times a minute, even if they are breathing faster (in this instance 14)? Do you try to sedate them with the drugs you have?