I need advice

HemOnc

Forum Probie
Hello everyone, I am a noob to this forum but I am having some troubles....

I am a rising senior in HS and am currently doing an EMT-B Course...I just had a chat with my instructor and it seems like he is saying I might have to retake the course...

I scored a 0% on one quiz and that made my average for quizzes go extremely low...My friend helped me figure out all the math and it IS possible that I can still pass the course with a 75%, I just need to get 100% on all the next quizzes, and this does not include the midterm and the final.

I was really slacking early on because I relied on my own background medical knowledge, and I have been dealing with some personal issues at home. I am really sad because I was thinking this course would be the highlight of my summer. My self-esteem was brought down by this news, and I am less talkative in class now, and am not as enthusiastic. I KNOW I can be successful, and I really want to open up to the instructor about what has been going on at home that caused me to struggle with the first part of the course. I am praying that I do not have to retake this course, but do you guys think I can work something out with the instructor? I am one of the youngest in the course (16) and have realized the mistakes I made in the beginning. Advice would be great!

luke_31

Forum Asst. Chief
What ever your instructor says is the passing grade is it. Lots of EMT schools require an 80% overall passing score to pass.

mgr22

Forum Deputy Chief
HemOnc, I'm sorry to hear about your troubles at home, but I urge you to consider whether you'd want an EMT who didn't know the material responding to YOUR home thanks to a special arrangement with the instructor. EMS is a serious business -- well, it's supposed to be, anyway. Maybe it's time to take a break from EMT classes, get things squared away at home, then give it another try when you're a little older and less preoccupied.

StCEMT

Forum Deputy Chief