Hope this is a good place to post my questions

Rayanna

Forum Ride Along
Reaction score
I've been trying to do some medical research for a story I am writing, and I came across this forum. I would absolutely love some help. I am not a doctor, EMT, nor do I have any experience in the medical field, so I was hoping to find some experienced people to teach me a few things.

I want my story to be very realistic... here is what is happening.

One of my main characters (23 year old female) is brought to the hospital. Her friends bring her because they claim they came home and found her unresponsive.

What would be the first thing to be done with her? What tests? What would you look for, and what would be normal? What would you ask?

I know that you'd look for trauma, but what happens if there is no sign of injury? What then?

Again, I'd appreciate anything you can tell me!

Now I am coming from a prehospital point of view. And would looking into a lot of This stuff to rule out possible causes.
I would look at the vitals, too high or low. Could be dehydrated, or hypertensive and having a stroke.
Is she hypoxic? ( lacking oxygen)
Blood glucose reading
Toxicology possibilities
Heart monitor, is the ticker working as it should.
Try and get any history from friends or family.
is the pt conscious now, does pt have any memory of incident. Leading up to incident.
History of seizures?
That are some of the things that come off the top of my head. Maybe we can round up a few er people to give some perspective.
another thing you can do is Google Some for some of the info. Put on your detective hat.:ph34r:B)

Thank you so much!!! this is awesome!