Got a chance at medic class...

mct601

RN/NRP
I've been a NREMT-B since March, did medical stand bys for BP from May to July, and have been a 911 emt since July. The local CC said I can still apply and get into their program for January. What are your thoughts on a fresh EMT going into medic so soon? The idea makes me nervous but I really do want to do it. I have yet to even work a cardiac arrest (I think I'm the only one at the company who can say that lol).

Please don't flame, I'm looking for help.

TransportJockey

Forum Chief
I don't see the point of an EMT being forced to stay an EMT before going to medic school. I recommend all new EMTs that I know go straight to medic school as soon as possible. Go for it :)

OP
OP
mct601

mct601

RN/NRP
Also, I'm a college student with alg, bio, etc. Only class I haven't taken is A&P.

Thanks for the feedback thus far

Veneficus

Forum Chief
I don't see the point of an EMT being forced to stay an EMT before going to medic school. I recommend all new EMTs that I know go straight to medic school as soon as possible. Go for it :)

^
Exactly what he said.

We need a sticky on this.

TransportJockey

Forum Chief
Also, I'm a college student with alg, bio, etc. Only class I haven't taken is A&P.

Thanks for the feedback thus far

I'd say get A&P 1 and 2 (with labs) as soon as you can. They will be a great help in your education as a medic, plus if you decide to move on to a healthcare profession they can help you out immensely.

VirginiaEMT

Forum Lieutenant
I've been a NREMT-B since March, did medical stand bys for BP from May to July, and have been a 911 emt since July. The local CC said I can still apply and get into their program for January. What are your thoughts on a fresh EMT going into medic so soon? The idea makes me nervous but I really do want to do it. I have yet to even work a cardiac arrest (I think I'm the only one at the company who can say that lol).

Please don't flame, I'm looking for help.