Foreigner taking a CPR/EMT-B course?

emtnoob02

Forum Ride Along
Hello.

I'm an international student on a F-1 visa. I'm also a senior in high school.

I was wondering if I could take the CPR and EMT-B as a foreigner. Is this possible? I heard I have to volunteer to finish the course, which I would love to, but can I volunteer with a foreign citizenship? (I don't want a paid job)

Also, is CPR certification needed to take an EMT-B in New Jersey?

Thank you!

medicdan

Forum Deputy Chief
Premium Member
Hello.

I was wondering if I could take the CPR and EMT-B as a foreigner. Is this possible? I heard I have to volunteer to finish the course, which I would love to, but can I volunteer with a foreign citizenship? (I don't want a paid job)

Thank you!

In general, it's not an issue at all for international students to take an EMT course. In order to obtain state certification, you may be asked for a social security number, but there is usually a workaround.
Whether it's incorporated in your class, or not, you should be able to volunteer or ride with a service, that shouldn't be an issue as well.
As was said above, the best resource to answer these questions is the state EMS office, or a local EMT course and their staff.

Good luck!

NJEMT95

Forum Lieutenant
For NJ, you need to have healthcare provider CPR certification before starting the course. If you join a volunteer squad, they will cover the cost of your training through the state EMS training fund. However, most squads will want a 1-2 year commitment from you.

Medic Tim

Forum Deputy Chief
Premium Member
An F1 will cover an EMT course. You may be able to work and or volunteer with it. Otherwise you will only be able to do the school required shifts. Lookin to opt ( optional paid training) or cpt ( curricular paid training) status on your F1. You may qualify.