First time handling what could be an emotionally draing situation

Dobo

Forum Lieutenant
Okay I don't shy away from blood, and am not weak kneed when it comes to seeing people injured, but I have to admit I am quite worried about what my response may be when I handle my first case of a seriously injured child. That my be an emotional thing.

Has anyone else had similar worries before they got started? Do you find that your training takes over and you get the job done? Does it ever get any easier?

rmellish

Forum Captain
It's a ton more stressful, mainly because Peds are more complicated as patients. It's not one of my great fears though.

Keep in mind I'm not a parent though.

OP
OP
D

Dobo

Forum Lieutenant
I have three gorgeous nieces, but no kids of my own. However, working on a child, at least right now, before I have any experience is a frightening scenario, maybe after I have had some experience I will fear it less and look at the glass as half full meaning I recognize that I can help this child.

rmellish

Forum Captain
Keep in mind I'm technically a BLS provider though. An ALS scope of practice with Peds makes me nervous already.

BossyCow

Forum Deputy Chief
There will be something that gets you. It probably won't be what you are expecting to bother you. It will be some silly thing that sneaks in under your radar. Most of us in that situation man/woman up and do our jobs. After the call is over it can become more difficult.

ttoude

Forum Crew Member
I have noticed that I'm fine as long as its not my kid. I clipped my sons finger nail to close one time and a glucometer size drop of blood came out and I cried like a punk till my wife came home.