fentanyl question-contraindication with COPD

Dennhop

Forum Crew Member
Ok, so I'm an EMT-B, and I understand this is completely out of my wheelhouse, however I'm also curious, and I came across a small tidbit of information tonight, and just want to understand it a bit better.

I read that Fentanyl can be contraindicated in pts with advanced stages of COPD...not really finding a lot about it, my uneducated guess would be that fentanyl can lower the HR, in turn relaxing a COPD pt, and making it more difficult for them to breath, especially considering that they may have fluid built up in their lungs.

Am I anywhere near the truth, or am I way out in left field? Again, I know it's out of my wheelhouse, but I was curious.

dutemplar

Forum Captain
A couple of methods, but the quickest version...

First, opoids can act to cause histamine release. Not necessarily the best thing for brittle asthmatics/ COPDers, and also is a bit of a sedative and can depress the respiratory drive.

Taken from the Duragesic (transdermal fentanyl) info book:

Ventilatory Effects
In clinical trials of 357 non-opioid tolerant subjects treated with DURAGESIC, 13 subjects experienced hypoventilation. Hypoventilation was manifested by respiratory rates of less than 8 breaths/minute or a pCO2 greater than 55 mm Hg. In these studies, the incidence of hypoventilation was higher in nontolerant women (10) than in men (3) and in subjects weighing less than 63 kg (9 of 13). Although subjects with prior impaired respiration were not common in the trials, they had higher rates of hypoventilation. In addition, post-marketing reports have been received that describe opioid-naive post-operative patients who have experienced clinically significant hypoventilation and death with DURAGESIC.