Experience

firemedic31075

Forum Probie
Well I've been working as a medic for about 3 months now and the way my dept. works is you go through a 3 week orientation then get assigned to a rescue car. And you have to be on the rescue for about 6 months then you can go to the engine as the paramedic by yourself. Now they put you on the resue with a senior medic for that time to boost your experience level. Heres the problem, im stationed in a very low income area where the residents dial 911 for just about anything and everything. We probably run a true ALS call maybe once a month if I get lucky. I'm starting to get frustrated with the constant BLS calls, I know its part of the job but how am I supposed to get any experience with critical patients if 99% of the calls are not even worthy of a BLS unit. I do alot of studying but theres only so much you can get from a book.
Any comments or suggestions??

MedicPrincess

Forum Deputy Chief
What types of calls are you getting that "aren't even worthy of a BLS unit?"

I came from a county service, where my truck was in the downtown area and "served" the homeless population, multiple NH, detox, the "projects", and the psych place. We also covered a good portion of the beach. I am now in a different service, and primarily "serve" middle-upper to high level income citizens....and I haven't seen a homeless person in my district yet (sometimes I believe they have an ordinance in place regarding the home challeneged and not being allowed).

What I am getting at is I have some, albeit minimal in comparison to many, expierience the call for everything....my worst being the 911 call for a broken fingernail.

Perhaps, if we know some of the calls you are determining not worth a BLS unit, then we could help you to look at them in a different perspective..... I can even lend you my glasses if you like..... they are a pretty rose color.

Jon

Administrator
Community Leader