EMT Pay in Rhode Island

RIEMT

Forum Ride Along
I'm currently and I’m currently a Basic with a full time non EMS job that I want to get out of. I’m also taking my EMT-C class. I cannot find any information as to what the going rate for a Basic is in RI, or what the pay jump is from Basic to Cardiac. I was thinking about calling an ambulance service and asking them, but I figured I’d give this forum a shot first. Any information as to what the pay rates are for Basic’s and Cardiac’s in RI would be awesome, thanks everyone!

mblueriven

Forum Ride Along
I live in Warwick myself. I am currently an EMT-B and am taking my cardiac as we speak. After speaking with people in my class who are already employed as Basics, they said the average pay for a Cardiac is between 15-17 dollars in RI.

OP
OP
R

RIEMT

Forum Ride Along
Thanks man, thats good info, any idea what the hiring process is like for all the Ambulance services? As is once you get your cardiac and if you’re not an idiot will you pick up a job pretty quickly or is it really competitive?

mblueriven

Forum Ride Along
As long as you have the proper credentials, getting on a Service is very easy. There is a high turn over rate for EMT's because people burn out or become fireman or get fired. It;s usually burn out. But you have lots of choices, Med Tech, New England Ambulance etc etc. You'll find them on the web.

OP
OP
R

RIEMT

Forum Ride Along
I’ve been looking into all the different companies, there a dime a dozen, do you have any recommendations? And I’ve heard of the high turnover rates do to burn out, what have you heard about that?

mblueriven

Forum Ride Along