EMS in Israel

EMTBRosenbloom

Forum Ride Along
HI! I'm currently a EMT-B here in the U.S. (as if you couldn't tell by the name) but lately I've been considering a change in scenery. One place I've been considering is Israel but I can't find anything online about what kind of service they use,how they certify,or who to contact for jobs. If anyone out there has experience there or knows someone that does drop a response at me. THANX!!

bstone

Forum Deputy Chief

medicdan

Forum Deputy Chief
Premium Member
HI! I'm currently a EMT-B here in the U.S. (as if you couldn't tell by the name) but lately I've been considering a change in scenery. One place I've been considering is Israel but I can't find anything online about what kind of service they use,how they certify,or who to contact for jobs. If anyone out there has experience there or knows someone that does drop a response at me. THANX!!

Welcome to EMTLife!!
As you can tell from my location, I am in Israel now volunteering as the on an ambulance for Magen David Adom, the national certifying agency and only 911 ambulance service. I'll give you a quick summary here and now, and feel free to contact me through email or a PM for more information.
The possibility for volunteering and working seems to be greatly dependent on Hebrew skills. Unfortunately, Israel doesn't really US certification, but favors its own system.

Here is a quick review of training levels here, that I pulled from another discussion:
Most Ragil (BLS) crews are Hovesh/Nahag (Medic/Driver) (~200 hours including FR training) Driver training is usually added to the hovesh course. (FYI. Hovesh course includes IV training as well as some MCI management training)
Hovesh Bacheir (Senior Medic) a separate course with advanced assessment and what they see as new skills (glucometer testing)