Dilemma - Nursing School or Medic?

Marinelayer

Forum Probie
Is there anyone here who wanted to be a nurse and then found themselves more interested in becoming a medic? For me, that's my current dilemma, and would certainly benefit from the advice of others who have had to make similar decisions.

Veneficus

Forum Chief
Is there anyone here who wanted to be a nurse and then found themselves more interested in becoming a medic? For me, that's my current dilemma, and would certainly benefit from the advice of others who have had to make similar decisions.

Revisit this dilemma after you finish nursing school.

Medic Tim

Forum Deputy Chief
Premium Member
I did 2.5 years of nursing before switching to Medic.I did well but I much prefer the Medic side of things. That being said up here in canada, wages for medics are in the mid 20s to early 30s starting out.

Martyn

Forum Asst. Chief
With me I am a failed student nurse and way back then failed student nurses went on the bumbulance...lol

Aidey

Community Leader Emeritus
I know a few people who are both. All of them prefer being paramedics. I know one works full time as an RN because of the wage difference, and another works full time in a NICU. She hopes to become a flight nurse on the pediatric team, and that is the best way.

JCyrus

Forum Crew Member
My brother was a paramedic student who decided he'd rather go into nursing. He's been working in ER primarily ever since, and is now clinical head rn of the ER at a Level 1 trauma center. Last year though, he took a class to become licensed as a Pre-Hospital Registered Nurse (PHRN) which is an EMS certification in PA allowing nurses to give pre-hospital care at a level slightly above paramedic, and now he picks up shifts on a volunteer service periodically. So, in all reality, he's literally come full circle.

epipusher

Forum Asst. Chief