CPR on the show ER

Glorified

Forum Lieutenant
Anyone else see how they do compressions and provide ventilations via BVM? LOL, The compression rate is like 30 a minute, and you can imagine the way they do the bvm.

Tincanfireman

Airfield Operations
Kind of the same idea with dropping an ET tube; I think I've seen one instance where the 'scope was held in the left hand. "House" is a particularly good source for the right-handed intubation technique. Drives the wife nuts when we're watching it, cause she knows I'm going to end up laughing at a critical moment. Apparently, the ginormous New Jersey hospital doesn't have any RT's on staff, cause the young docs seem to always end up doing it themselves. Good help is so hard to find these days...:p

BossyCow

Forum Deputy Chief
technique. Drives the wife nuts when we're watching it, cause she knows I'm going to end up laughing at a critical moment.

Speaking as an EMT myself and someone married for 20+ years to a Paramedic.... your wife watches medical shows with you in the room???????

firecoins

IFT Puppet
I remember when ER came on originally. I never see anyone yelling during a code in the ER or on an ambulance. Its either very calm and professional or out of shape with EMT's or Medics gasping for air themselves.

And no music goes on during our codes. Whats the deal with that? I want the cool soundtrack.

HorseHauler

Forum Lieutenant
Yea I can hear it now, in the back of the squad, in a code, " And another one gone, and another one gone, Another one bites the dust"

Tincanfireman

Airfield Operations
your wife watches medical shows with you in the room???????

Actually, we met in the back of an ambulance, back when we were both advisors to a Medical Explorer Post (608, Pontiac, Mich) waaay back in the late 70's! She had to quit doing the ambulance stuff due to a bad back, but still likes to laugh at me. :rolleyes:

FF/EMT Sam

Forum Lieutenant