CPR and AED

EMTBWannabe

Forum Probie
Reaction score
I have read, re-read, and re-re-re-read the "pro" edition of the American Heart Association CPR and AED manual.

I am a EMT-B student with 2 weeks under his belt and will be tested on CPR both written and practical.

I am confused as to when to use the AED (of course provided that I have determined that an AED should be used).

so here's the question:

for Adults - (unwitnessed conscious) i will call 911 and try to get an AED first and then start cpr - before i start CPR i will open the air way using the head tilt chin lift and look, listen, feel for breathing- using no more than 10 secs. then i check his carotid artery to see if he has a pulse. if there is no pulse - i should do 5 cycles of CPR and then hook up the AED for analysis and possible shock. IS THIS CORRECT?

here's my email in full:

I have read, re-read, and re-re-re-read the "pro" edition of the American Heart Association CPR and AED manual.

I am a EMT-B student with 2 weeks under his belt and will be tested on CPR both written and practical.

I am confused as to when to use the AED (of course provided that I have determined that an AED should be used).

so here's the question:

for Adults - (unwitnessed conscious) i will call 911 and try to get an AED first and then start cpr - before i start CPR i will open the air way using the head tilt chin lift and look, listen, feel for breathing- using no more than 10 secs. then i check his carotid artery to see if he has a pulse. if there is no pulse - i should do 5 cycles of CPR and then hook up the AED for analysis and possible shock. IS THIS CORRECT?

for adults (witnessed) i will call 911 and get an AED... i will do assessment of breathing and pulse. if there is no pulse or breathing do i go straight to the AED without giving CPR?

for pediatric pts - (unwitnessed) give 5 cycles of cpr... then call 911 and get AED - hook up AED for analysis and shock (if advised)... and resume cpr... is this right?