Becoming a better EMT...

silvercat354726

Forum Lieutenant
I have been working for a company for about five months. I started riding with a medic about three months ago. I am getting better at helping the medic when it is a an ALS call. But I was wondering how to become a better EMT for a medic? How do I learn the supplies they carry?

medicdan

Forum Deputy Chief
Premium Member
I assume you are working on a P/B waiver (Paramedic/Basic considered ALS, as opposed to P/P). You should have been trained on this stuff the first day you worked on an ALS truck.

I suggest you take a paramedic assist or ALS assist course. Below is a link to an outline for one of the classes:
http://wmems.org/PAstOut.pdf

The skills taught include:
Spiking an IV bag
Attaching a monitor
securing an IV
securing an ET tube
Possibly using Sp02 (if its not a basic tool)
Possibly taking FSBG (if its not a basic tool)
Hopefully, training on the monitor your service uses-- how to check it, clean it, attach therapy pads, print strips, etc.

These should all be skills taught in basic school, but are often not. They should also have been taught by the medic you work with earlier rather then later-- before he needs you to use these skills.

If you want to learn about the supplies and equipment you carry-- ask the medic. Go through the ambulance top to bottom (dont you at the beginning of your shift anyway?) Even if you cant on calls, learn how to use everything, learn when specific things are used, learn why...?

Good Luck! (Knowledge is Power!)

Dan

Last edited by a moderator:

Hal9000

Forum Captain
Interesting

I don't know much about outside EMS, and that's one of the reasons I keep my dumb mouth shut on here. I was looking at what EMT-Students said and realized that I was taught those skills that you mention in my Basic class. Interesting, because I assumed they were common. Something new every day. :rolleyes:

medicdan

Forum Deputy Chief
Premium Member