Anyone with possible advice

IrishMedic

Forum Crew Member
Im a qualified NREMT EMT-B in the State of Indiana and Recently certified Paramedic NREMT. I currently live in Ireland and am an Irish citizen. I am looking to move to the USA next year with my Girlfriend (who is an american citizen and from california). But i would love to try and get a service to try help me out. I am a qualified firefighter 4 years in Ireland and i am looking to do Fire 1 and Fire 2 in the USA. I work both fulltime and voluntary with services here in Ireland. The reason i would like to get a job and move over is that i feel i would love to work in country where i can live the dream, get the best experience as a medic and give back to the country that trained me..corny i know but thats how i feel...so if anyone can point me in the right direction or have any constructive advice, id love to hear it......

Jon

Administrator
Community Leader
Are you looking to move anywhere in particular? I know that Southwest and other places in AZ often have ads in JEMS looking for medics and offering relocation assistance... that might also work well if your significant other has family in CA.

Jon

akflightmedic

Forum Deputy Chief
Seeing as how you have NR EMT P, you are in a good position. As far as your fire certs, depending on where you go, you will more than likely have to redo a fire academy.

Are you set on being a fire medic or would working only as a paramedic intrest you?

What states do you have in mind? There are tons of options out there, if you give a little more focus, there are plenty of people here that can give you some great advice and very detailed information.

Having said that, here is my opinion if I were in your shoes. I would do my damndest to come over as a medic, get some experience, get a feel for different areas and then start trying to cross into being a fire medic if that is your ultimate goal.