Anxiety

rling

Forum Ride Along
I'm a new paramedic and will be starting my accreditation on next week. Quite often, we get calls that end up being anxiety related. However, the conclusion of anxiety is usually deduced after a battery of questions and diagnostics.

What are some of the questions that you ask and things that you look for that gives a quicker indication that anxiety is the problem at hand?

Some things that I notice about the patients after the fact are:

Mental Status: Anxious/Distressed/Crying (obviously)
Tachycardic
Tachypneic with clear lung sounds
Possible tingling in hands, feet, fingers, lips (carpal pedal spasms from hyperventilation)
Chest pain/tightness/pressure, possibly provocable by palpation or respiration
Blood Pressure normal to slightly elevated
(Capnography, but my county doesn't have it)

Things that I would assess:
Airway
Breathing (Rate, Effort, Depth, Lung Sounds)
Circulation (Radials - Rate, Rhythm, Quality), Skin Signs,
Vitals - BP, HR, SPo2
Blood Sugar
EKG, 12 Lead EKG for those over 40 y/o or with cardiac history

Although we tend to dismiss anxiety, I've come to find that to some degree, symptoms of more serious conditions can be similar to anxiety, such as Pulmonary Embolisms, Spontaneous Pneumothoraxs, etc.

Am I missing anything here?

KEVD18

Forum Deputy Chief
well, as you've come to the conclusion of, a dx of anxiety is usually arrived at after excluding other possibilities.

once you've eliminated everything else, thats where you land.

im curious as to why you place those limits on your XII leads.

these are the thing you list that you have seen in these types of patients:
Mental Status: Anxious/Distressed/Crying (obviously) so altered mental status
Tachycardic a cardiac complaint right?
Tachypneic with clear lung sounds
Possible tingling in hands, feet, fingers, lips (carpal pedal spasms from hyperventilation)a possible symptom of lots of cardiac complaints