A story about clinical cultural competency

wanderingmedic

RN, Paramedic
Preface: I have not talked about it much on these forums, but I am studying sociocultural anthropology at a major research university in the US. My work analyzes the ways immigrants perceive American biomedicine, and how American medical providers can provide good care to immigrant populations. I decided to post this story about a patient that I cared for several years ago. I hope you find it interesting, and that it makes you consider the cultural elements at play when we interact with people who seem different from us. This piece is part of a larger paper I wrote a few years ago.

If you're willing, I would love to hear about your experiences caring for patients from other cultures. Have you learned any "tricks" in caring for people who seem very different?

---------

I smiled as I walked into the patient’s room. The cool weather had left me in cheery spirits, and I was looking forward to finishing up my last call of the night so I could go home and enjoy the rest of my evening. My partner and I had received a request to transfer a pediatric patient on a ventilator to the Children’s Hospital for specialized intensive care. What I did not realize is that this call would shift the paradigm through which I saw many of my patients, but not in the way I practice clinical medicine.