A confounding situation

CMHills

Forum Probie
I'm not sure if this is the right thread for this, so admins, feel free to move me around if it's not.

I'm an RA at my small liberal arts college, and have recently been trying to convince the residence life office to let me train all of the RAs in CPR. However, I keep getting fed this exact line: "... we can't train our RAs in CPR for liability reasons."

I have two questions. First, has anyone EVER run into a legitimate claim like that or am I just getting brushed off? Most CPR instructors I know work for schools - colleges included - because the school got tired of paying someone else to certify their staff (which includes RAs). Why were they paying so much? Because it's a liability not to have CPR certified people on staff.

... right?

Second, how should I proceed? Their idea is to "leave the CPR to the trained EMTs." As a trained EMT, I would be horribly depressed if I were to show up to a scene at which the pt required CPR and was getting nothing but concerned looks from bystanders. This seems like a negligent case of the institutional lazies, but before I go raising hell all the way up the ladder, I wanted to run it by y'all.

Am I right in being very, very afraid, or is there a legit reason for a college to avoid having any (yes, any, including campus police officers and athletic trainers) of its staff CPR certified that I just haven't heard of?

medicman14

Forum Crew Member
The typical logic is that when a person, on their own, gets trained in cpr, then uses it...it is as a good samaritan. When you place it into a job description, it becomes a duty, not samaritan, but part of your job. Then comes into play injuries during cpr, aka workers comp vs personal medical...etc. There is also equity between staff and scope of employment concerns to address.
This is just a small friendly glimpse into the sometimes prevailing logic of employers.