Transport scenario - may be pretty easy

emt281101

Forum Ride Along
Hello all,

I am an EMT-B in Maryland. My LT. asked me this question a few months ago and I'm curious as to what your answers will be.

Single vehicle MVC, with vehicle into guardrail on left shoulder. Not a high speed crash, but hit hard enough for airbags to deploy. Driver was belted.

Upon ambulance arrival, patient (driver) was sitting on curb on right side of road, in handcuffs. Patient also had taser probes in his back, from an apparent struggle. Pt. complains of neck pain.

How do you package and transport the patient?

In my jurisdiction, protocol dictates that all trauma patients complaining of neck and/or back pain are boarded and collared.

Protocol also dictates that taser probes are not to be pulled out of a patient in the field: It MUST be done in the hospital.

So, how do you package and transport the patient?

OP
OP
E

emt281101

Forum Ride Along
I guess I should have said that driver was involved in a low speed chase by police. I forget what the charge was, but it's irrelevant. Theft or something. No obvious sign of ETOH use.

Ops Paramedic

Forum Captain
One should opt for full spinal immobilisation, for 3 reasons: The MVC itself, the patient complaining of neck pain, as well as the fact that he was tasered.
I have never been on the recieving end of a taser (fortunatly), but from seeing some video on the use of the taser, i would immobilise. It looks like a miniature electricution, and seeing that person shake, i would have to think cervical spine trauma has a srong posibility of occuring (Although the device is classed as non-lethal).

Firemedic515

Forum Probie
This patient needs full spinal immobilization. Consult with the recieving facility and TELL them that your are removing a couple taser barbs from this guys back. Have the cops uncuff him and throw him on a long board.

mikeylikesit

Candy Striper