Seated Spinal Immobilization

AlaskaEMT

Forum Crew Member
In an upside-down vehicle! How does this work?

scottmcleod

Forum Crew Member
In an upside-down vehicle! How does this work?

[THIS IS NOT THE ANSWER], but my instinct would be to go:

- manual c-spine
- collar
- KED (somehow?)
THEN try to have the patient extricated, or vehicle rolled over or what not.

That being said, I don't actually know the real answer, so if anyone from fire, or who has worked in this situation can shine some light, I'm curious!

KEVD18

Forum Deputy Chief
press hard, your making three copies. have a nice day.

rescuepoppy

Forum Lieutenant
Seated C-Spine

I have several years of rescue experience so let me say that if the patient is upside down in a car he is probably not seated. He is probably all twisted up in an akward position meaning you would have to straighten him out before you can put him in a KED or XP-1.Normally the easiest thing you can do is to c-collar hold manual stabilization and ease patient on to a long board. In a perfect world a vest would be the optimum way to go but sometimes you could do more harm by using one. Again this is not the perfect way to go and certainly not the only way to go just what I have seen the most.

rescuepoppy

Forum Lieutenant
[THIS IS NOT THE ANSWER], but my instinct would be to go:

- manual c-spine
- collar
- KED (somehow?)
THEN try to have the patient extricated, or vehicle rolled over or what not.

That being said, I don't actually know the real answer, so if anyone from fire, or who has worked in this situation can shine some light, I'm curious!

Just reread this post as a note I would not recomend rolling or moving the vehicle while the patient is in it until all other means of extrication have been exhausted. Trust me after 28 years of doing this we can aome up with some pretty unique options to get some one out. Not trying to be judgemental just trying to share a little experience.

reaper

Working Bum