respiratory distress

sfry

Forum Ride Along
Hi,

I need your expert option. I was an EMT years ago. But now work in the billing office submitting ambulance claims to Medicare. Allot of coding people, prior to my arrival, code any sign of breathing difficultly as Acute Respiratory Distress (ARD). This includes SOB and Resp Distress. I want to have a training session with them but I having difficultly locating signs and symptoms for SOB, ARD, and Resp. Distress over the web. Can you help?

bikenburn

Forum Probie
My question for you is how many codes are there that you could use to differentiate your medical problems? Does your system allow for differentiation of asthma vs emphysema vs bronchitis or does it group all of them under their functional group of COPD's? The problem it sounds like your people are having is that first off, SOB is a symptom secondary to a primary problem. While SOB may be due to a respiratory illness, it could also be due to an AMI, heart failure, anaphylaxis (to name a few.)
My understanding thus far is that ARDS or ARF is essentially an inability of the reparatory system to provide adequate O2 to the blood. This again could be due to several factors, and depending on how the coding is trying to differentiate, it could be very different. I'll see if I can find anything on the web for you about S/S's of the varying illnesses.

OP
OP
S

sfry

Forum Ride Along
Thanks for your response. I agree that primary conditions like asthma, emphysema and bronchitis explain why they maybe having breathing difficulty. However, sometimes the run sheets only indicate a history of the above or they are absent altogether from the report.

For example, the call is dispatched as "breathing problems". Crew arrives to find pt sitting in chair and complaining of SOB that began an hour ago. Pt history is renal failure and HTN. Current vitals are HR 74/ B.P 170/100 and Resp 22. Breathing effort is Fatigued. Pt placed on O2 @ 15 LPM via NRB.