Question for other EMTs that ride MCs

TransportJockey

Forum Chief
I just got back from a ridealong with a friend in a local Ambulance service and one of the calls we responded to was a motorcyclist fatality. I was just wondering how you guys deal with stuff like that.
I've seen crashes and people get hurt when I work as a corner marshall at the track, but never anything like this.

Maybe it's a good thing my bike is in pieces while I'm waiting for parts, cause I dont know if I want to really ride right now.

BossyCow

Forum Deputy Chief
This is really common. When a call gets under our radar and hits us on a personal level. Whether its a pt who looks like your Aunt Mabel or a kid who was wearing a jacket identical to the one your kid's best friend was wearing the last time you saw him.

This has less to do with motorcycles than it does with the common EMS provider mindset of ... "If I learn enough, this will never, ever happen to me or anyone I love" We see up close and personal how fragile the human form can be. Give yourself some time! Personally, I decided that the next time I hit a dog, I was going to win. So my bike went on the market and I have nothing left but the gravel still in my elbow to remind me of the event.

firetender

Community Leader Emeritus
I started riding motorcycles around the same time I became a paramedic, back in the mid-1970's. I was taught by my partner who raced motorcycles before becoming a medic. We worked in Daytona Beach, FL, including yearly stints covering Speed Week and picking up the debris of countless bike wrecks big and small.

Through him I learned that the best you can do as a rider is to, at all times, reduce the odds of getting into an accident and never relinquish control of the bike. If one should occur (based on the assumption that there's two kinds of bikers, those that have fallen off and those who will fall off), make sure you have protective gear on.