Oxygen and opiates

Lara

Forum Ride Along
As a student I have been told that oxygen metabolizes opiates and reduces the half life of opiates which I found quite interesting and that when an opiate OD (post naloxone) has recovered having a normal GCS and no signs of respiratory depression it is good practice to administer oxygen routinely regardless of oxygen saturations. This is against our guidelines so I did a bit of research. However, doing my own literature search I cannot find any explanation for this. Has anyone else been told this? Can anyone direct me to any evidence to support this?

STXmedic

Forum Burnout
Premium Member
Never heard of that. Sounds like bs to me, but I could be wrong.

@Remi ?

Jon

Administrator
Community Leader
Yeah... Never heard of it.

Smitty213

Contributor of Tidbits
I mean you should always oxygenate/ventilate your overdoses due to respiratory depression, but I have never heard of O2 reducing the half life of an opiate. Chemistry wise I'm not even sure how it would work honestly, the math just doesn't work out... There are a lot of studies out there that discuss the harmful effects of excessive oxygenation if anything.

Gurby

Forum Asst. Chief
"As a student I have been told that oxygen metabolizes opiates and reduces the half life of opiates"

I could be wrong, and this is a bit over my head, but I don't think this is a good way to think about it. It seems to me that oxygen plays a role in the process the same way that oxygen plays a role in the electron transport chain. In other words it's an important and necessary component, and metabolism of opiates will probably be inhibited if there is a lack of oxygen, but it's not like bumping their O2 sat from 96 to 100 is going to speed up the process.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2704133/