Opinions/experiences on EMS training

Phoenix

Forum Probie
Hello all,

I have been visiting and reading here for several months now, and finally decided to register for an account. A big thank you to everyone who posts here, as it has been great insight into the challenges and day to day of what you all do.

I will try to keep it brief - I am 36 years old, living outside of Austin, TX, have had my life do a 180 turn over the past year (divorce, single dad with 2 kids, a memeber of the walking wounded from this recession), and I have been considering my options and what I want to do with my life, at least career wise. EMS is very much at the top of the list, for various reasons, none of them any belief thatthis is a "cool" job or I'm going to be a hero. I would really just like to do something where I can help people, have always had an interest in medicine, and feel that this field is something I can come home from every day and feel good about - despite all the politics, frustrations, long hours, etc that I have come to understand come with it.

Because of my life situation in being a provider for my family, I have been looking at several training options, and one that has really appealed to me is a school called Training Division outside of Dallas. There program is in 3 parts, EMT-B, I, and P, and is mainly online and self paced. Each segment concludes with 1-3 weeks of fulltime, onsite, hands on skills training (depending on the level), and then clinical rotations. The exam pass rates they post are extremely high, but of course, I write that off as potential marketing copy. I am not concerned about the independent study, as I am very disciplined and have gone that route before with success in the past. My questions are this:

- Does anyone out there have any experience with this school, and able to provide feedback?