Making your job easier??

lisakaren11

Forum Ride Along
I am not an EMT but I am asking if you would share some of your knowledge and expertise. I am a student majoring in Biomedical Engineering and am beginning a senior design project. My task is to find a piece of equipment that is used by an EMT that is not currently portable, but could be more beneficial to the EMT if it were made portable. Can anyone give me suggestions? Then, I can begin to work on a design to make it portable and possilby help to make your jobs easier. Thanks for any help you can provide.

KEVD18

Forum Deputy Chief
there isnt an awful lot that we need that isnt already portable. you might, however, improve the design of a currently portable design.

some ideas:
stretcher
stairchair
suction
autopulse type devices
extrication equipment.

good luck

mikie

Forum Lurker
Can you make our defibrillators lighter? Maybe even smaller? Not that it's obnoxiously heavy (LP12) but can often be hard to carry in tight spaces especially if it's attached to the patient!

And in general, making the equipment lighter and more portable would be great....use new, lighter metals for O2 tanks & regulators, and like KEVD said

Sasha

Forum Chief
Can you design something that EMT/Medics currently do not use? Like i'm sure patient survival rate would improve if we could some how figure out a way to carry and store whole typo O negative blood. Saline, while it does do well in raising blood pressure is not an adequate replacement when there is just no RBCs left.
Pretty much everything an EMT uses is portable. Unless you could make sirens portable to get through those event crowds that just don't wanna move!! :p

Sasha

Forum Chief
I like that one! Or design the stryker so it would be more affordable and my local EMS will pick it up!

BossyCow

Forum Deputy Chief
A portable ER would be nice! Portable OR complete with surgeons.

mycrofft

Still crazy but elsewhere