Lazy medics should be shot

weretiger13

Forum Probie
Reaction score
This really bothered me, so I wanted to share it. I was working an extra shift before the holiday, and so had a different partner. I am only an EMT-S, although I just passed my class for Paramedic. Anyway, we get to wake up at 3 am for "injuries from assault." The lady's brother pushed her down the basement stairs. She was c/o neck, back, R tib/fib, L hip, L wrist, L shoulder pain. She had a nice lac laterally and below her R knee. No other obvious injuries, but the MOI was there. The medic I was with walked up, ran his hand down her spine, and told her there was nothing wrong with her back (since he was too tired to go to the "trouble" of boarding her). He then proceeded to walk her out to the ambulance, then climbs in the driver seat and makes me tech. I was confounded for the longest time on how to document that one, and I don't even remember how I ended up doing it. I could have killed him. She should have been backboarded, but the lazy medic.....grrrrrrr.:angry:

So that's my story. How's everyone doing? Have a nice holiday weekend?

Just because he's a medic and you're not doesn't mean that you HAVE to ride it. You have every right to question the care that's given a patient. Not however; in front of the patient. If you felt that the patient should have been boarded (which I believe as well that she should have) then say something to you partner. If you don't then it's possible that you can be held negligent as well. Unfortunately in EMS alot of it comes down to CYA. Cover YOUR A:censored: :censored: