Is EMS right for me?

ServiceGames

Forum Ride Along
Right now, I work full time as an IT contractor getting anywhere from 40 hours per week to 55+ hours per week depending on the week. During my free time, I have started a sole proprietorship (that I hope to turn into an S-Corp or LLC before the end of the year) doing iPhone/iPod Touch/iPad development.

For most of my life, I haven't been overly excited about medicine as I couldn't watch a needle being put into someone. That fear came from having 63+ needles put into me over a five week stint at the hospital after being hit by a car when I was 13. But, I've faced that fear and gotten over it (by dogsitting for my parents' dog who has diabetes and needs insulin shots twice daily).

I'm 34 years old right now, and over the next few months, I have a feeling that I'll be spending a lot of time and money on either Physical Therapy or Surgery for ankle problems and a knee injury sustained over two years ago during a car accident I was in. That car accident is what made me interested in going into EMS. I was up and walking at the scene, but I had a nice cut on my head and had lost a decent amount of skin on my elbow. Even though I wasn't in any kind of immediate danger at all, the EMTs on site were just incredible. VERY kind, and they did such a great job! As a matter of fact, while only one EMT team had been called in, another happened to just be driving by and stopped to help. These people are the everyday heroes that no one ever knows about. And, I want to be one even if "Thank yous" don't come pouring in all the time.

Needless to say, over the next year or so, as I get PT or Surgery and get my business going, I'm not going to have time to actually go to school to get my EMT-B cert. So, it'd probably be about this time next year before I'd be able to start my classes and training.