In need of advice...

Redemption

Forum Ride Along
My name is AJ and I'm 19 years old. I'm posting here because I've been thinking about enrolling in an EMT-B program lately. Before I graduated high school (this last May) I was pretty sure I'd be heading off to this big expensive college to pursue psychology... however the economy is kind of in the pits, and I am unable to finance such an expensive college. Things got more complicated after my mom (who I live with) was transferred by her job to where we currently live. I tried applying to other schools and wasn't accepted.

I feel as if I'm not supposed to go through with the whole psychology thing. So here I am now thinking about becoming an EMT-B for a few reasons. I'm good with, and good at taking care of, people. It seems like the only program that I can a. afford and b. get into. And I'm just kind of taking it as a sign...

So I guess I wanted to ask you all for your advise. I'm so lost with life right now, almost disheartened with the way it has gone recently.

I wouldn't become an EMT out of convenience, I've given it quite a bit of thought, so it's not like I'm grasping at straws. I just need some sort of direction in my life.

Can anyone share their experiences? Why did YOU become and EMT? What regrets do you have, if any?

Thank-you all in advance.

pumper12fireman

Forum Crew Member
First off, welcome to the boards.

My experiences: