How to volunteer

foreverunemployed

Forum Ride Along
Reaction score
Hi. I'm a phlebotomist, not an EMT, but thought to post here because I couldn't find any active forum for phlebotomists. I have no job experience, though, which is why I've been looking for some volunteer opportunity.

Thing is, I'm not sure how to approach a clinic and offer to work there for free. (The Red Cross and major hospitals are off-limits.) I'm thinking I have a better chance if I show up in person rather than resorting to e-mail/phone calls, but even then I don't know who to talk to... or how to "sell" myself. I've found that I'm actually very passive, and once I'm told "no" I meekly back off and say "thank you" without further argument.

Does anyone here maybe know what the attitude that "insiders" have toward people who randomly stop by and offer to volunteer (so I could come up with a better strategy)? Or better yet, does anyone here who's been in my position know what to do... at all? I'd like to get some practice before I forget everything there is to know about drawing blood. :unsure:

Thanks in advance for your help.

Most hospitals have voluneer offices. Hospital volunteers don't do phelbotomy.

Hi. I'm a phlebotomist, not an EMT, but thought to post here because I couldn't find any active forum for phlebotomists. I have no job experience, though, which is why I've been looking for some volunteer opportunity.

Thing is, I'm not sure how to approach a clinic and offer to work there for free. (The Red Cross and major hospitals are off-limits.) I'm thinking I have a better chance if I show up in person rather than resorting to e-mail/phone calls, but even then I don't know who to talk to... or how to "sell" myself. I've found that I'm actually very passive, and once I'm told "no" I meekly back off and say "thank you" without further argument.