Glucose Admin Failed to Raise Blood Sugar

Devin Hunt

Forum Ride Along
I'm new to the world of EMS and had my second shift on the Ambulance so please forgive me if these are dumb questions, but I haven't been able to find an answer. I work in public health so I have some medical experience, but not in an emergency situation. Anyway, here was the scenario:

A patient presented with low blood sugar and a history of diabetes and lung cancer. She fell and couldn't get back up and her speech was a bit slurred. The first blood glucose reading we had was 20 mg/dL. 15g of oral glucose were administered. The second blood glucose reading was 31 mg/dL. Another 15g of oral glucose was administered. The third blood glucose reading was 25 mg/dL. At that time since we couldn't get her glucose levels up a paramedic was picked up on our way to the hospital. No IV line could be established and Glucagon was administered before we reached the hospital. She stated she didn't eat that day because of nausea and she stated she hadn't administered her insulin that day. She was able to take the glucose with no problem.

I'm curious why the oral glucose didn't work in effectively raising her blood glucose levels? Is there a possible interaction with her lung cancer that may have caused the oral glucose to be ineffective? Are there medications that might interact with oral glucose?

Thanks for your feedback. I'm trying to learn as much as I can to be a better EMT down the road.

luke_31

Forum Asst. Chief