EMT-B in chicago looking for international work/volunteer opportunities

daxmotis1989

Forum Ride Along
Reaction score
Im an EMT-B at Superior Ambulance in Chicago which is the second largest private ambulance company in the Midwest. Im really looking to get some international experience in a spanish speaking setting to improve my skills. Does anyone have any input on what the reality is of being able to work/volunteer in some sort of health related program, EMS or not? Any experiences or suggestions of where to go or who to talk to? Do I need different certification and/or will I have less restrictions on what I can and cant do in a place like mexico?

Last edited by a moderator:
You will need to be a medic to work EMS in most other countries. I am sure there are people here that can give you a more specific answer though.

Welcome to EMTLIFE

American Red Cross tends to like to hire EMT-B for national emergencies, I know this to be true where I live. When something happens they call you and then ship you out wherever the emergency is. Might want to look into it with your local Red Cross.

dax,

I worked in mexico.It was a great experience and I highly recommend it to you. you are thinking too much like an American. If you want to go to mexico, just go, and you will be able to do plenty with your EMT. Keep in mind though, that what you will be expected to do, or asked to do, is on par with a paramedic and sometimes even higher level of care. But, down there they are so willing to teach you it is great! Nothing against the USA, but people are not as willing to teach you. So dont worry about that, there will always be someone there to guide you.