Calgary & Edmonton ( EMR, EMT ) TRAINING ADVICE

Mike4123

Forum Ride Along
Hello Everyone:

I am a complete beginner in the field.
It is a goal and a dream for me to be apart of the EMS crew.
As a newbie.. I need all the advice I could get...

Here is a list of institude that I am planning to attend:

St. John Ambulance CPR: C
St. John Ambulance EMR ( 2 week course Starting January 09 )
Alberta College of Paramedic ( Hopefully being able to get my EMR certificate )

Looking for work as an EMR.... this a hard one for me...
I don't have any paramedic friends.... so it's more difficult to find information about jobs.
Will my institude reccomend me to a work place if my grades are outstanding?
Will there be a list of opportune work places for me to choose from?

As for EMT training, which I have been searching for an earlier start date other than : September09(sait) or November09(nait *Im not too sure b/c an EMT training class is being hosted this first month of NOV 08)

What are my chances as an EMR of being hired from Mar 09 - Aug 09?
For starters it's not easy to find work in the city, is this correct?
If I am missing something in my future planning, PLEASE ADVICE...

Thank You for reading,
Hope for some great replies.

Last edited by a moderator:

fortsmithman

Forum Deputy Chief
After you pass the ACoP exams then you could get employment working in the oil fields as an EMR. The ACoP web site has employment listings.

OP
OP
M

Mike4123

Forum Ride Along
I have one more question.

After I am done with my EMR training in ACP, am I eligible for transferring into B.C's JIBC for EMT training? Or do I start at the beginning or go through with more testing?

Thank you

OP
OP
M

Mike4123

Forum Ride Along
Last question..

Which institude in Edmonton would provide the most efficient program; as for becoming a firefighting paramedic?

I know this and the above question contradicts with each other, but it would really help me to make decisions.

Thank You

Kendall