BLS command? (Pennsylvania)

APinPA

Forum Ride Along
Reaction score
I am a fairly new EMT in PA. I am not a primary provider yet, mostly because I have been in constant motion and trying to complete nursing school. When I first started precepting in Montgomery county PA (after I had graduated EMT class) they referred to it as "precepting for command". Same general thing where I run in Chester county. Now that I am in another county, they are saying that they have never heard of BLS providers being required to have "command". The way the process of BLS command was explained to me was that your preceptors and supervisor all signed off that you had completed your probationary period, and then the medical director would sign a piece of paper that authorized you to have "command" through the state (as opposed to ALS command where you have additional steps including a face to face interview with your medical director).
So the question; Are the terms command and primary used interchangeably? Does an EMT need a medical director approval to be the primary care provider (is it a state requirement)? or, Is it just that some organizations have that policy and it is not a state requirement?

Never heard of this type of requirement. Sounds like way too much hassle for a bls provider

Never heard of this, are you talking about command on an incident? Incident Command is not based on providers level of medical training

Sounds like FD thinking and terminology. From ICS, all incidents, big or small, technically have an IC.

From the sounds of it, it's semantics for being authorized to practice in your state, under your physician. I would venture to say command and lead/primary are interchangeable.

Sounds like FD thinking and terminology. From ICS, all incidents, big or small, technically have an IC.