American Paramedic interested in Australia or NZ

enjoynz

Lady Enjoynz
Hey everyone.

I'm currently a paramedic from Southern California in the US. I'm interested to know what the process would be if one were looking to relocate to either one of the wonderful nations of Australia (i.e. prison colony) or New Zealand (i.e. sheep colony). ;)

What, exactly, would I have to do? Is there any sort of mechanism for reciprocity? Would I have to complete an Aussie or NZ approved paramedic course (as I understand it, these are usually bachelor-degree appropriate). What if I have a degree in EMS? How is the job market for paramedics in your respective countries?

Thank you guys so much for any input.

Well to cut through all the above drama's. It's not easy to get into the New Zealand Ambulance Service if you are from another country.
And basically if you are looking at working as a paramedic (Advanced Paramedic) here.
You would need to go through our training or maybe a commonwealth paramedic degree at university.
I know of a lady from England that is a member of this site. That finished her degree in England, then came to NZ, so it can be done.
As far as Working for St John Ambulance.Contrary to what other people are saying.
There is nothing wrong with the services and procedures that are in place in NZ, apart from being under staffed.
From memory St John only covers Western Australia as an Ambulance service there.
If it's the money you are after. Australia pays better than NZ from what I've heard.
Mr Brown has already posted the links, so there is no use in my attaching them again.

Happy hunting!

Cheers Enjoynz

Scott33

Forum Asst. Chief
Well, both countries have their similarities and differences as far as immigration goes. The role of the paramedic is a good example of how they differ.

Australia looks like the easier option, as "Paramedic" is one of the jobs recognized for possible immigration purposes (see link), not so for NZ.