Police as First Responders

wwrescueEMT

Forum Probie
In the city where I am a volunteer EMT our police officers are incredible. All of them are certified as first responders and go through a lot of training, sometimes even go through some trainings with us, to keep up their skills and increase the amount of stuff they can do to help us. Only once during the time i've been on this department has the ambulance beaten the cops to a scene, and that was only because we were about half a block away....even then they pulled in right after us.
By the time we get on scene, (in the city it takes us apprx. 5-10 minutes from dispatch time to patient contact) the police have about half of our work already done for us... they have the patients on oxygen (if needed), they have names, ages, addresses, meds, history, signs and symptoms and any other info they regularly hear us asking for. They are always more than happy to lend a hand with lifting, packaging and transporting. In cases of trauma, the worst of the bleeding is almost always controlled and bandaged properly. In addition to all of this, sometimes the only reason we can find a scene is because of the squad cars out front.
Gotta love them cops. :)

So what I was wondering is how do the police departments work along with rescue in the area where you're from?

Hastings

Noobie
Well, dispatch automatically sends the police on any potentially dangerous call automatically to secure the scene. They're all trained as medical first responders, and are very helpful in initial assessment and treatment. Otherwise, on calls considered safe, it's the regular fire department. Which do I prefer? Honestly, the police.

KEVD18

Forum Deputy Chief