Completely green EMT-B (seattle) in need of a little guidance

Honeybadger

Forum Crew Member
Hi guys,

I'm a completely green EMT, I've been certified since early this year, and have finally started dipping my toes into looking for a job; but being in Washington state has me really, really confused about how things work.

I read a thread here from 2010 (looking at the department of health website is the most unhelpful thing on earth) that basically says that there is no state exam beyond the NREMT exam I already passed, though I had heard that there is one from other sources. Can someone clarify this?

Also, I'm really struggling to find positions. I've applied for at least a dozen ER tech jobs with the swedish network, though if I really want to have any hope there, I need to get a CNA/MA certification as well. I've also applied to several of the medical transport services as well, to no avail.

I would be plenty happy with a volunteer job for a few months to build up some experience, but I really feel like I'm flying blind here, and haven't found any helpful venues for advertising myself or finding work (I've signed up for the swedish job network, and have simply looked up the local ambulatory services in the area. I really don't like applying over the internet, but unfortunately that seems to be everything I've found thusfar)

Goals wise, I'm not looking to really go beyond an EMT-B towards nursing or being a paramedic, this is mostly field experience (and obviously to pay my bills) that I want to build up for medical school applications in a few years. I'm not sure if that really rules out volunteering or starting with a local fire department or not. I started out as a lifeguard in 2009 and have really exhausted any form of challenge that profession has for me.