Why waste time at hospital?

adamNYC

Forum Lieutenant
I've been noticing EMS guys, after dropping off pt at the hospital, spending 20mins or so just killing time before they "green up" and take calls again. Why is this? Maybe I'm a student and never worked calls yet but I can already see myself not wanting to waste time and wanting to take as many calls as possible throughout the day. What's you guys' take on this?

OP
OP
adamNYC

adamNYC

Forum Lieutenant
I mean I can understand if it was crazy calls with alot of lifting and exhaustion but these were some very basic non-critical "sick" calls. After doing 4 ride along tours I guess I'm still hungry to see a trauma or arrest.

gotbeerz001

Forum Deputy Chief
Oddly enough, if there were more significant calls, most of us might clear sooner.

If you are too much of a go-getter, you may find that no one wants to work with you. Everyone has their "pace" that they like operate at. Your best move is to try and match partner, whether faster or slower. Good luck trying to motivate your unmotivated veteran partner to work at your pace.

While pt care is our job, good pt care happens when you and your partner work as a team.

Last edited:

DrankTheKoolaid

Forum Deputy Chief
Likely they are completing PCRs

Brandon O

Puzzled by facies
I've been noticing EMS guys, after dropping off pt at the hospital, spending 20mins or so just killing time before they "green up" and take calls again. Why is this? Maybe I'm a student and never worked calls yet but I can already see myself not wanting to waste time and wanting to take as many calls as possible throughout the day. What's you guys' take on this?

This is like asking why people waste time in bars when there's always so much work to be done at the office.

DesertMedic66

Forum Troll