unequal bp's

nsom9ac

Forum Probie
Hey all, new to the forums so i thought i'd start with a question from a recent call. I'm an emt-b and work for a private so really all calls are routine transfers (also a 2nd tier medic student so i always do a full exam if for no other reason to stay in practice). We were called to a hospital to transfer a 79 y/o male from the floor back to his nursing home. Finally found his nurse and she said pt was non-verbal and mostly flaccid (in fact the only movement i witnessed was his eyes and occasionally his head when he coughed). She took a final set of vitals and bp was high ... 213 systolic right, 188 left. I asked her to call the nursing home because i was afraid they would send pt right back and since weather was cold and rainy i didn't want pt out in it more than necessary. They were ok with it but Dr. wanted to give 0.1 Clonidine via G-tube before transport. Last semester on one of my clinicals the RN's were telling me about unequal bp's being a sign of artery obstruction. Is this not really a concern? No one other than me acknowledged they were unequal.

RMApok

Forum Probie
I had a pt once (transport, not 911) who presented with a BP of about 90/30. When we informed the nurse, she said "Oh, don't worry, he's post CVA, check his other arm." Sure enough, he had a BP in the other arm of about 120/60. Apparently, stroke can affect BP in opposite arms. My medic didn't even know that.

Was your pt post CVA? Maybe that's why nobody seemed concerned.

OP
OP
N

nsom9ac

Forum Probie
I had a pt once (transport, not 911) who presented with a BP of about 90/30. When we informed the nurse, she said "Oh, don't worry, he's post CVA, check his other arm." Sure enough, he had a BP in the other arm of about 120/60. Apparently, stroke can affect BP in opposite arms. My medic didn't even know that.

Was your pt post CVA? Maybe that's why nobody seemed concerned.