Triage Training

BrandoEMT

Forum Crew Member
I am working on a presentation for START Triage. I've scoured the interet for information and have the basics however I don't know how to deliver it so that it isn't the same as all other triage presentations. For one audience I can get away with having hands-on scenarios but with another possible audience they expect to sit on their butts and sleep. What could I do to switch things up? Does anyone have any information on START Triage that I could incorporate to the basics that I have gathered? Thanks for your help.

Brando

Luckydogg0404

Forum Probie
Well, I am a student and obviously have limited knowledge of EMS, but here is what i would do in your situation. Since knowledge is power, and the best way to attain knowledge is through hands on experience, i would try to recall a personal experience, or create a certain situation and take it step by step and explain the steps to be taken in each. Just think to yourself, " what is the best actions to be taken in any situation"? Relay those facts intermittently. You will do fine. I have had to give several lectures about different things in past employment and it always worked well for me and the class. Hope that spurs a good idea of your own. Good luck and God bless! Also try getting a few of the "sleeping" type audience to help you reenact a situation. They will find it stimulating and fun!

jeepmedic

Forum Captain
One thing you could do is use Soda bottles. Put Pt. information on the bottles throw them in to a basket and then scatter them around having the students triage them. They can use the ribbon. This is both inexpinsive and can be fun.

trauma1534

Forum Captain