Therepeutic Hypothermia post Cardiac Arrest

sspruch

Forum Ride Along
Hi Everyone,

I am a paramedic from South Africa, working for a small private service striving to be the best in South Africa.

Noone in South Africa currently does therapeutic Hypothermia post Cardiac Arrest. Not even any of our hospitals. We are looking at trying to get up to a level where we can establish Post cardiac arrest induced hypothermia. Is there a device out there that we can use to induce hypothermia prehospital, and then hand over the patient in hospital with the machine and leave it there until the patient is back to normal temperature and then we can collect the machine.

Does anyone out there know of such a device? Or is anyone out there doing prehospital therapeutic hypothermia?

Let me know.

thanks
Shaun

Flyhi

Forum Crew Member
HypoT treatment post ROSC

HI Shaun,

I know in Ireland the paramedics use 4 ice bags, 1 under each armpit and 1 in each groin. The Advanced Paramedics here are looking into chilled IV fluids but nothing solid on that yet. I know Miami FD have run a number of HyptoT IV treatments with great sucess. AS for a machine I dont know if I know of one you can put the Pt on and hand it over to the ED staff as part of the Pt care?? I know in Ireland they would not take it as its EMS equipment and the fact that they are not trained in its use. Unless the HypoT treatment includes pre and post hospital protocols then I think you will be beating your head against a brick wall.

Try this post in the international section and see what comes back. I am NREMT P qualified working here in Ireland but looking to move on. Do you have any info on direct access for overseas trained paramedics in South Africa. Worked there in Kimberly for a few months in a past life but did not get to see the nice spots :lol:

bigbaldguy

Former medic seven years 911 service in houston