Radio question

emt_basic_newbie

Forum Ride Along
Hey guys, I've just started my EMT-B class and things are going well. I was wondering if someone could give me a quick introduction on how radio procedures go. Does every hospital have its own channel? I've never worked with a radio before and don't want to go into my rotations clueless.

Chimpie

Site Administrator
Community Leader
This is going to be different w/ every city and every department.

Most hospitals have their own channel, but that is the easy part. Learning the lingo, how information should be given over the radio and proper radio etiquette is what is really important to learn. Every hospital and every department is different. You'll just have to ask/learn when you start your rotations.

Epi-do

I see dead people
Ditto what Chimpie said. Around here most of the hospitals have there own channel as well, although there are a couple exceptions where two hospitals share the same one.

Don't sweat not knowing about the radio, how it works, or what to say. There are plenty of people in EMT class that have never been exposed to radios, or alot of the other aspects of EMS. Don't be afraid to ask questions. Whoever you do your clinicals with should be aware that this is all new to you and be willing to answer your quesitons.

JPINFV

Gadfly
Every system/agency is different. In Southern California (Los Angeles and Orange County at least), for example, EMT-Bs don't have online medical control, so all radio communicaiton is between them and their dispatch.

NJN

The Young One
The lingo is the worst. Almost every department has different 10-codes and signals. We don't have online med control we go thru dispatch. We have separate radios for comm with hospital. Just remember that one channel's 10-2 could be another's 10-20.

Epi-do

I see dead people
All I have to say about 10-codes is thank god we don't use them around here!!!
yahoo.gif

Webster

Forum Crew Member